About us

Africa's economic development is impeded by its weak integration into the world economy. Its share in global trade is only about 3 percent, whereas intra-African trade represents as little as 0.5 percent of total world trade. Our goal is to jointly strengthen Africa's role as an exporter on the international market and to increase local value creation so that additional jobs can be created. We achieve this goal by improving product quality and strengthening the national quality infrastructure. To this end, we develop partnerships with European and African companies, associations and the quality infrastructure.

The quality infrastructure includes all actors involved in standardisation, metrology, accreditation and conformity assessment services (inspection, testing and certification of products and systems). A well-developed quality infrastructure is a prerequisite for local companies to participate in international trade: without it, the quality and safety of their products cannot be demonstrated.

We offer support in cases where European companies want to import from Africa, but product quality poses a challenge. Together with European companies or associations, we develop and implement projects to overcome these barriers. To find out more about the nature of these projects, have a look at our range of services or our current Projects .

Our projects support African companies in accessing new markets. These new export opportunities enable them to increase their production and achieve higher prices for their products, which in turn can lead to an increase in wages. Environmental and social standards, which are in high demand by international importers, furthermore have positive effects on working conditions and the protection of natural resources.

Win-Win Situation

We combine development cooperation with the interests of the private sector. European and African companies benefit equally from our work.

European companies benefit from…

African companies benefit from…

Secretariat

Our secretariat is jointly managed by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH and the National Metrology Institute of Germany (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, PTB). They act on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung, BMZ). Together, they support companies and associations in the development and implementation of projects, as well as through consulting and networking.

The Alliance is part of the BMZ Special Initiative on Training and Job Creation, which also operates under the name Invest for Jobs, and the Quality Infrastructure Fund.

Unser Team

Sara Mohns

Sara Mohns

Coordination

Siegmund

Dr. Barbara Siegmund

Coordination

Weiler

Stefan Weyler

Secretariat

Blies

Darinka Blies

Secretariat

Bianca Peters

Cooperation with the private sector

Jana Bante

Cooperation with QI institutions

Fiona Schubert

Ethiopia, Ghana, Rwanda

Aristide Djimgou Tchakounte

Côte d‘Ivoire, Morocco, Senegal, Tunisia

Patricia Bruecher

Financial management GIZ

Antje Berger

Office management GIZ

Svenja Sender

Office management PTB

Lofo Allianz für Produktqualität
Suche
Close this search box.

Über uns

Die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung Afrikas wird bisher durch eine noch schwache Integration in die Weltwirtschaft erschwert. Der Anteil Afrikas am Welthandel beträgt nur ca. 3 % und der inner-afrikanische Handel entspricht nur 0,5 % des Gesamtwelthandels. Unser Ziel ist es, gemeinsam den innerafrikanischen Handel sowie die Rolle Afrikas als Exporteur auf dem internationalen Markt und die Wertschöpfung vor Ort zu stärken. Wir setzen hierbei auf die Verbesserung der Produktqualität und die Stärkung der nationalen Qualitätsinfrastruktur. Dazu entwickeln wir Partnerschaften mit europäischen und afrikanischen Unternehmen, Verbänden und der Qualitätsinfrastruktur.

Zur Qualitätsinfrastruktur gehören alle Akteure, die in den Bereichen Standardisierung, Normen- und Messwesen, Prüfdienstleistungen, Akkreditierung und Zertifizierung (Produkt und Qualitätsmanagementsystem) tätig sind. Eine gut entwickelte Qualitätsinfrastruktur ist Voraussetzung dafür, dass lokale Unternehmen am internationalen Handel teilhaben können, denn ohne sie kann die Qualität und Sicherheit ihrer Produkte nicht nachgewiesen werden.

Wir kommen ins Spiel, wenn europäische Firmen aus Afrika importieren möchten oder afrikanische Unternehmen innerhalb Afrikas verstärkt Handel betreiben möchten und die Produktqualität dabei eine Herausforderung darstellt. Gemeinsam mit afrikanischen oder europäischen Unternehmen und Verbänden entwickeln wir dann Projekte, um die Herausforderungen zu bewältigen und setzen diese um. Um mehr darüber zu erfahren, wie diese Projekte aussehen können, sehen Sie sich unser Leistungsspektrum oder unsere laufenden Projekte an.

Durch unsere Projekte unterstützen wir die afrikanischen Unternehmen dabei neue Märkte für sich zu öffnen – regional und international. Die neuen Exportmöglichkeiten führen dazu, dass afrikanische Unternehmen ihre Produktion steigern und höhere Preise für ihre Produkte erzielen können, wodurch wiederum die Löhne steigen. Umwelt- und Sozialstandards, die oft von internationalen Importeuren nachgefragt werden, haben zudem positive Wirkungen auf Arbeitsbedingungen und den Schutz natürlicher Ressourcen.

Win-Win Situation

Wir verbinden Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit Interessen der Wirtschaft. Von unserer Arbeit profitieren europäische und afrikanische Unternehmen gleichermaßen.

Vorteile für europäische Unternehmen

Vorteile für afrikanische Unternehmen

Sekretariat

Unser Sekretariat wird gemeinsam durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) und die Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) verwaltet. Sie handeln dabei im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ). Gemeinsam unterstützen sie u.a. Unternehmen und Verbände bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Projektideen, sowie durch Beratung und Kontakte.

Unser Team

Sara Mohns

Sara Mohns

Koordination

Siegmund

Dr. Barbara Siegmund

Koordination

Carolina Amarante

Ruanda, Kommunikation

Jana Bante

Zusammenarbeit mit QI-Institutionen

Christian Dohse

Äthiopien, Ägypten, Zusammenarbeit mit der Wirtschaft

Jana Hupperich

Côte d‘Ivoire, Senegal

Ayla Opatz

Zusammenarbeit mit QI-Institutionen

Fiona Schubert

Ghana, Rwanda